Anthony John Phillips (Tony) (69)


BSc (Eng) (University of KwaZulu-Natal)

Tony joined Mpact as an Independent Non-executive Director in April 2011. He is the Chairman of the Board, Chairman of the Nomination Committee and member of the Remuneration Committee. Tony was appointed MD of Barlows Equipment Co in 1988, and MD of Finanzauto SA, Spain in 1992. He was appointed a director of Barloworld Limited in 1996 and was CEO from 1998 until 2006. From 2005 until 2007 Tony was the Chairman of PPC Limited. Tony is currently a director of eNX Limited, Newman Lowther and Associates (Chairperson), the World Wildlife Fund, Eqstra Ltd (NED) and Kansai Plascon Africa Limited (Vice Chairman).

Executive directors

Bruce William Strong (47)


BSc (Eng) (Summa cum laude) (University of KwaZulu-Natal), BCom (Hons) (University of South Africa), AMP (Harvard)

Bruce has been the CEO of Mpact since March 2009. Prior to being appointed CEO, he held various management positions in Mondi, both in South Africa and Europe. Bruce has 21 years’ experience in the paper and packaging industry. He currently serves on the executive committee of the Paper Manufacturers Association of South Africa and is the Chairman of the South African Manufacturing Circle, a corporate association of manufacturers whose membership includes small, medium and large companies across all manufacturing sectors.


Brett Clark (51)


BCom, Post-Graduate Diploma in Accounting (University of Port Elizabeth), CA (SA), CIMA

Brett joined Mpact as the CFO in June 2012. He is a qualified Chartered Accountant and was previously a Principal at Absa Capital Private Equity, an Executive Director of Brait Private Equity and CFO of Clover Industries Limited and Unihold Limited, respectively. Brett has also worked for Nampak Limited in various positions in South Africa and the United Kingdom.

Independent non–executive directors

Neo Phakama Dongwana (43)

BCom, Post-Graduate Diploma in Accounting, BCom (Hons) (University of Cape Town), CA (SA)

Neo joined Mpact as an Independent Non-executive Director in April 2011. She is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee and Social and Ethics Committee. Neo is Chartered Accountant and currently serves as an independent non-executive director on a number of boards. Prior to being a non-executive director she was an Audit partner at Deloitte for almost 10 years.

Her portfolio of boards includes AVI Limited and Barloworld Limited She is also a board member of Mutual & Federal, South African Breweries (Pty) Ltd and a Trustee of the Women’s Development Bank. Neo is also a member of the Financial Services Board (FSB) Appeal Board.

In 2015 Neo concluded her term as a member of the inaugural audit committee of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) as a representative of the South African Government on that committee. This committee reported to and provided technical support to the SADC Council of Ministers.

Neo is also an active member of her profession and was until recently a member of the Education and Monitoring Commitees of the Independent Regulatory Board for Auditors (IRBA). Neo is passionate about the growth and transformation of the CA profession and in particular the development of women CAs. She is a committed member of the African Women Chartered Accountants (AWCA) and serves as a director of its investment arm, AWCA Investment Holdings (AIH).

After qualifying as a CA, Neo worked as an equities analyst at Gensec Asset Management.


Nomalizo Beryl Langa-Royds (Ntombi) (54)

BA (Law), LLB (National University of Lesotho)

Ntombi joined Mpact as an Independent Non-executive Director in April 2011. She is the Chairman of the Social and Ethics Committee and the Chairman of Remuneration Committee. She is also the Trustee of Mpact Share Incentive Scheme. She has more than 26 years of experience in human resources. Ntombi is a director of Murray and Roberts Holdings Limited, ABIL and Redefine Properties Limited.


Timothy Dacre Aird Ross (Tim) (71)

CTA (University of KwaZulu-Natal), CA (SA)

Tim joined Mpact as an Independent Non-executive Director in April 2011. He is the Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee and member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee. He previously (for 37 years) was a Partner at Deloitte & Touche, and was the Head of Johannesburg Audit, Head of Client Services and a member of the Deloitte & Touche Executive Committee and Board. He is a Non-executive Director of Eqstra Holdings Limited, Adcorp Holdings Limited and PPC Limited.


Andrew Murray Thompson (58)

BSc (Eng) (University of the Witwatersrand), MBA (Finance) (University of Pennsylvania, Wharton)

Andrew joined Mpact as Non-executive Director in October 2004. He is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee and Social and Ethics Committee. He was, until recently, a Non-executive Director of Adcock Ingram Holdings Limited and previously served as the CEO of Mondi Limited as well as an Executive Director of Anglo American South Africa Limited.

Maya Makanjee (54)

BA Arts (University of Mumbai), BCom (University of KwaZulu-Natal), MBL (cum laude) (University of South Africa)

Maya Makanjee was appointed to Mpact’s Board of Directors as an independent non-executive director, with effect from 5 September 2016. She is a member of the Social and Ethics Committee and the Remuneration Committee.

Maya is currently a non-executive director of Tiger Brands Limited and a Board Trustee of the Nelson Mandela Foundation. Until recently, Maya was a director of Vodacom (Pty) Limited, a member of the Vodacom Group Executive Committee and Chairman of Vodacom Foundation, South Africa. She was also a director of Vodacom Tanzania Foundation and Vodacom Lesotho Foundation.